Tumbling into Autumn

Well, this whole summer felt pretty stagnant and unimpressive. It was the hottest, driest summer in about 150 years (or on record? Has my city even BEEN here that long?)

The days were too bright, almost unnaturally so, the grass turned brown in most places and more than 100 forest fires blazed in my province. Yes, hiding inside seemed ideal. However along with that has come a discontent. We are still doing coven work, I still have my personal devotion to El and Athiratu (and other members of the Canaanite Pantheon at times) – but something feels amiss.

I have found myself thumbing through those beginning Witchcraft books again. You know.. the ones about Hedgewitchery, Kitchenwitching , and all those other fun little books. No theology, no deep understandings… just ‘doing the work and getting the hands dirty’ . I miss following a program that is not my own, floundering about madly. I miss that drive to be connected, that excitement of learning a new path, new vistas to unfold.

So, I found myself revisiting some Druidry sites. This was partly stimulated because in the virtual world I play in, InWorldz , there are role playing regions, and in one of them, I have been invited to be the Druid Guild leader. In a video game, being a Druid is much different of course, however when I was writing up the various levels and learnings one would need to go through with their character in order to level up as a Druid I started thinking… ‘How come I’m not doing this in real life?’

I had looked through sites about Druidry before. ADF, and OBOD being the two that I remembered off the top of my head. I’m not sure why I didn’t pursue it then, probably because we had the coven going and things to write etc. I didn’t feel the need.

I feel the need now. I want to journey again.

I want to follow an outline and do work that I need to do. I want to try things I’ve not tried and learn somethings about myself.

I chose the OBOD over the ADF because ADF is in most senses an actual church and Druidry the religion. I am Wiccan, I also have Deities that I am working with that are non Celtic, although I do have an affinity with some Celtic Deities also.. I don’t want to become something I am not currently. I don’t want to change my practices, and discontinue them,  I want to add to what I do, and enhance it. OBOD is more inclusive in this manner.. but really they are two very different ways of doing things. Some people belong to both, as well as the AODA , BOD and others. For me, the format of the lessons seems like exactly what I could use., especially with the Audio option. And as much  as I used to turn up my nose at such things as Eclecticism and such back in the day of being a Gardnerian I now (especially as one who has become an ‘Eclectic Wiccan’) find this sort of approach refreshing. Even the term ‘DruidCraft’. which I honestly laughed at before and now think… “why the hell not?”

So, I will start this journey and see how it goes. Perhaps it will go nowhere.. perhaps not. May I be led by Awen to discover what it is I need at this point in my life.

Blessed Be

4 thoughts on “Tumbling into Autumn

  1. A structured study program can be a great way to push forward while learning and when it feels useless to keep going. I have some of the same concerns you have about the course since I do not have relationships with the Celtic Gods. It is a lot for me just keeping up with daily devotions to the Canaanite (and possibly Palmyrene) Gods. I’m interested to see how your studies will help you develop in the future! Good luck, and shalamu!

    • Yeah, I would think it would be important to some degree… however when I read through their forums of people at the Ovate level and just chats in general, there are many who are animists who don’t interact with deity at all, instead seeing divinity in each thing. Some who feel that the Gods are the spirits that live in these things. Some who feel that the various Gods are one Source, manifesting in different Gods depending on the need or part of the journey one is on. Some are hard polytheists who do feel the presence of each distinct god. There doesn’t seem to be one set way. However there is of course Celtic lore, and I do have interest in that, being of Irish and British decent, and being Wiccan I obviously entertain a level of satisfaction with those things.
      But… El and Athiratu, Anat and Ba’al.. the various stories and feelings and impressions from them, they are very real for me also. I think that the form OBOD takes, allows one to take what they learn and apply it to the path they are on, “The three realms of Art, Nature and Philosophy are encompassed within the three divisions of the Druid Tradition. We are finally able to unite our artistic concerns with our environmental and spiritual concerns. The Bard, Ovate and Druid are one person standing on the earth – poet and shaman, healer and philosopher – spiritual and earthy.” — I think that the various things taught at each level could even perhaps deepen the relationships I have now.. who knows.
      Structured course (though I admittedly dropped out of the House of Netjer one) can help with a feeling of connectivity and my current self feels very disconnected in many ways. Fingers crossed, and a good self -shove to keep myself on this path, to see what I can learn.

Leave a Reply

